Outstanding Pharmacy Buyer of the Year Award Program

2019 Nomination period has now CLOSED

Winners will be recognized at August 2019 NPPA Conference
And in a future edition of NPPA’s member-publication

2019 Program Sponsored By NPPA

See Photos of Last Year’s 2018 Awardees Below

NPPA’s Outstanding Pharmacy Buyer of the Year Award Program

The NPPA is proud to honor exemplary work in the field of pharmacy purchasing through the Outstanding Buyer of the Year Award!  Each year the Top 3 Awardees are named at the Annual NPPA Conference and, in addition to the distinction, are given corresponding educational prize awards.

Qualifications & Eligibility

Nominees must have a current NPPA membership active in their name (valid through the month of August in the corresponding award year).  In addition, all nominees must be pharmacy purchasing professionals currently employed in a pharmacy facility, and not be employed by one of the following:  pharmacy vendor companies (such as a vendor for drugs or pharmacy supplies); GPO companies (Group Purchasing Organizations, such as Intalere, HealthTrust, Premier, Vizient, etc.); nor Pharmacy Management type of companies (such as Comprehensive Pharmacy Services-CPS or HCA Healthcare).  Also, 1st and 2nd place winners from previous award years are not eligible for the current year’s Outstanding Buyer of the Year program.

Nominations by a supervisor, co-worker, or colleague related to the pharmacy purchasing field, as well as self-nominations, will both be considered.  In these cases, we suggest that both the nominator, as well as the nominee, complete all or part of the Nomination Form so the form is as complete as possible.  This gives the nominee the opportunity to comment further than the nominator may have been able to do, or allows them to add some additional remarks.  Both eligible nominations will be presented to the judging panel and published in NPPA’s member publication, Pharmacy Purchasing Outlook.

Completed nominations received from the opening date of submission (in December each year) until the deadline (in late June, see details on Nomination Form), will be printed in approximately 8 editions of Pharmacy Purchasing Outlook (exact editions start & end dependent on what date the Program opens that year and how many nominations are received).  The winners will be determined by a neutral panel of judges and announced at that year’s NPPA Conference in August during the Opening Session on the first day of the conference, as well as in one of the post-Conference editions of Pharmacy Purchasing Outlook.  Nominees will be informed of their status as soon as the judging is finalized (in late July or early August).


The criteria used to evaluate the significance of the nominee’s accomplishments within the past year takes into account the level of positive impact the individual made within their pharmacy during the year such as the following:

        • Providing a model for excellence
        • Helping others to do their jobs better
        • Improving the services provided by the department
        • Streamlining business process efficiency
        • Applying innovation or creativity to job duties
        • Developing new job skills
        • Keeping a consistently positive attitude despite workload demands
        • Accomplishing savings in cost and/or time

Award Distinctions

Qualified nominees have the chance to win one of the following 3 distinctions and educational prize awards.

1st Place:

$1,000 awarded for education/travel

2nd Place:  

$500 awarded for education/travel

3rd Place:  

$250 awarded for education/travel

Results of 2018 Outstanding Buyer of the Year Awards
As Sponsored By Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories, Inc.


1st Place:  

Debra Carlson, CPhT
System Pharmacy Inventory Specialist
St. Charles Bend Hospital
Bend, Oregon

Received $1,000 Award for Education/Travel

2nd Place:

Jim Thomas, CPhT
Pharmacy Buyer
Faith Regional Health Services
Norfolk, Nebraska

Received $500 Award for Education/Travel

3rd Place:

Christine Adkison, CPhT
Pharmacy Buyer
Island Hospital
Anacortes, Washington

Received $200 Award for Education/Travel

Nominees for 2018 Outstanding Buyer Award

Carla Carroll, CPhT – Supply Chain Tech/Buyer, St. Joseph Regional Health Center, Bryan, TX

Dannette Cole, CPhT – Pharmacy Buyer/340B Specialist, Banner Churchill Community Hospital, Fallon, NV

Margon Dillard, CPhT – Pharmacy Buyer, CHI St. Luke’s Sugarland Hospital, Sugar Land, TX

Phala Flugaur, CPhT – Pharmacy Buyer, North Memorial Health Hospital, Robbinsdale, MN

Susan Hamilton – Purchasing Officer, University of Illinois Medical Center, Chicago, IL

Charlene Hogan, CPhT – Pharmacy Purchasing Agent, St. Thomas Rutherford Hospital, Murfreesboro, TN

Angela Loftus, CPhT – Senior Pharmacy Purchasing Buyer/Analyst, Nebraska Medicine-Bellevue, Omaha, NE

Melissa Palmer, CPhT, RPhT – Pharmacy Buyer, St. Joseph’s Hospital, Tampa, FL

Taylor Reuter, CPhT, CAN – Pharmacy Buyer/Tech, Sidney Regional Medical Center, Sidney, NE

To View Past Awardees, Click Here